Williamsburg Trip

I went to Williamsburg again yesterday and here’s my report:

Williamsburg Area Transit Authority launched a new pass program at the beginning of this year and for me, my trips here and there mean my best value is $2 for an All Day Pass.  Drivers just had a staff meeting the other day about making time points and, as I was on Orange Line (Train Station / Tam-0-Shanter / Best Buy / Water Country Back Entrance), we sat for several minutes at a couple of points to wait for it to be time to go.

Several of the operators I spoke with were curious about the GoPass365, which I use on my travels, and I explained that basically it’s HRT’s equivalent of showing a WATA operator your Thomas Nelson or William & Mary ID.

Now, my big big gripe: HRT Route 121 (NNTC / Patrick Henry Mall / Train Station:

There is but one single round trip in the morning, and one single round trip in the afternoon.  I boarded the 5 PM trip from WATA Station to head home, and get this

  • We left 7 minutes early (4:53 PM instead of the correct 5 PM)
  • We left before all WATA buses arrived

Of course I blasted an email off to HRT because I can easily see the run being more popular if it would just wait for the 5 PM WATA lineup and people knew they could depend on the 121 waiting for them.

Passenger count for Route 121:

  • 7 on at WATA Station
  • 2 off / 8 on at Patrick Henry Mall

Bear in mind that there could’ve been more if the bus simply waited for it’s schedule and allowed all WATA buses to arrive

2 responses to “Williamsburg Trip

  1. It may be even more popular if it were at 6pm