Goodbye Suffolk

IMG_0038

Yesterday, I went for a ride with HRT Staff on the final day of HRT operations in Suffolk.  Passengers were mostly taking things in stride, and mostly it was a day of saying goodbyes to everyone.  Beginning Tuesday (because Monday is a Holiday), Virginia Regional Transit will be taking over Suffolk operations.  They will operate Routes 71 and 74 as they were, and is expected to report back with proposals around March or April.

I gave Suffolk Public Works an earful due to the loss of Paul D Camp Community College service, then the HRT staffer explained how the 72 also served a lot of residential that would be losing service as well.

I’ve used VRT’s Mountain Division service plenty of times before and I say: give them a chance to iron the kinks out.  Take it in stride, and I will be back in Suffolk to see how VRT is doing.

Comments are closed.