Priority Seating Area: Do the Right Thing

I was riding the outbound #20 this past week to the RAC Strategic Planning Meeting when I ran into an interesting snag.

I am recovering from foot surgery and it’s currently very painful to walk, so after swipping my farecard, I announced that I would need a front seat.

Two ladies were in the front and rudely said that they wouldn’t move since they already paid their $1.50 and that where they’re from (NYC, the MTA), you’d get kicked off the bus for that*. Another passenger offered their seat, defusing the situation.

* Federal Regulations require that you give up a front seat to a passenger who needs it more than you; i.e. a disabled passenger who identifies themselves, as I did (I think it’s pretty sad that this has to be law; it should be common sense)

One response to “Priority Seating Area: Do the Right Thing

  1. Pingback: Puppy Obedience is Essential