ADA Issues on HRT Buses

10-16 Follies
I’m currently on Medical Leave from Woodrow Wilson, recovering from foot surgery. I’ve been riding buses plenty of times lately, and I feel there’s been a lot of problems lately.

I’m in a wheelchair (10-16 in HRT radio speak) and several buses have problems with the restraints. 95% of the problem buses are the 1995 Gillig Phantoms and the Orion Vs (the 500 series and 900 series buses, respectively).

As you can see from this image of Bus 509, one of the straps to secure my wheelchair is missing. Also, the seat belt (to keep me secure in the chair) is also missing. This is a very common problem among the 500 series Phantoms and 900 series Orions.

What’s worse is, among all buses in HRT’s fleet is that the securements are usually extremely dirty and sometimes, the seat belts are tied in a knot that must be undone before I can be secured on the bus.

Comments are closed.